England name 15-man squad for Cricket World Cup

England have named the same 15-man squad which toured the West Indies this winter ahead of the Cricket World Cup.

Led by skipper Eoin Morgan, the squad named by national selector Ed Smith is subject to change up until the ICC’s deadline of May 23.

Jofra Archer is not named in the World Cup squad but is included in the pre-tournament ODI series against Pakistan and Ireland, which run from May 3 until May 19.

The Barbados-born seamer completed his three-year residency period last month making him eligible for selection.

And the Sussex star, along with teammate Chris Jordan, has been given a shot at dislodging one of the incumbent members of England’s attack.

Eoin Morgan’s side drew the series in the Caribbean 2-2 with an available attack of David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Tom Curran, Mark Wood and Chris Woakes.

Smith said upon the squad’s unveiling: “The selection panel has been impressed with Jofra Archer’s performances in domestic and franchise cricket. He is a very talented and exciting cricketer.

“Chris Jordan, a regular in IT20 squads over the past few years, has continued to develop as a cricketer – as we saw in the IT20s in the West Indies. He fully deserves his return to the ODI squad.

“In line with ICC regulations, we have to name a preliminary squad of 15 for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup before April 23. However, all 17 players named in the Royal London ODIs against Pakistan can stake a claim to be in the final 15-man squad, finalised at the end of that series.

“With regard to resting players, we are conscious of managing player workloads leading into such an important summer so that players are in the best possible condition for the World Cup. That was also a factor in the way we have selected these three squads.”

England’s next fixture in preparation for the Cricket World Cup sees them travel to Malahide to play Ireland in a one-off match, before five ODIs against Pakistan.

The first match of the tournament sees the hosts open against South Africa at the Oval on May 30.

England’s preliminary 2019 Cricket World Cup squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) captain

Moeen Ali

Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Buttler (Lancashire)

Tom Curran

Joe Denly

Alex Hales

Plunkett (Surrey)

Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root

Jason Roy

Ben Stokes

Willey (Yorkshire)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Mark Wood (Durham)

England 17-man squad to play Pakistan in ODIs: Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

England 14-man squad to play Ireland in an ODI: Eoin Morgan, Jofra Archer, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *