Missed us? Buy TCP here

Subscribers login | Free sample


Get our weekly Cricket email

England welcome back Ben Stokes fresh in the afterglow of Australia series win

England have announced their 14-man squad to play India next month with Ben Stokes returning from a hamstring tear to find himself in contention.

Eoin Morgan’s side play the first of three ODI matches in the series at their welcome hunting ground of Trent Bridge on July 12 and Stokes is likely to feature having played not part in England’s 5-0 whitewash of Australia.

Picking up the injury in the final match of England’s winter tour to New Zealand, Stokes is set to make his return to action for Durham in their first T20 Blast match against Yorkshire a week before the showdown with Virat Kohli’s side.

Two players who were in contention for selection but have been squeezed out are all-rounder Sam Curran and Kent captain Sam Billings.

While Chris Woakes is forced to sit out the opening matches of the series as he recovers from a long-standing knee injury, an area of concern the Warwickshire all-rounder spoke to TCP recently.

England ODI squad to play India

England: Eoin Morgan (Capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Mark Wood.

ENG v IND Schedule

1st ODI: July 12, Trent Bridge (12:30)

2nd ODI: July 14, Lord’s (12:30)

3rd ODI: July 17, Headingley (12:30)

This article was brought to you by The Cricket Paper, the UK's best-selling cricket publication, on-sale every Friday.
To subscribe to The Cricket Paper CLICK HERE

Tagged , ,

Share this story


Related Posts


The latest tweets from @TheCricketPaper

Have your say

Who will win the 2019 Cricket World Cup?

New Zealand
South Africa