Jason Roy gets recall to England ODI fold

(Photo: Getty Images)

By Adam Ellis

Dropped for the Champions Trophy semi-final against Pakistan, Jason Roy has been recalled by England for their upcoming five-match ODI series against West Indies.

The Surrey opener has rediscovered his form after scores of 1, 13 and 4 saw him dropped in favour Jonny Bairstow by England as their bid to make a home final in this year’s Champions Trophy.

In his last four white-ball matches for his county the 27-year-old has scored three 50s (50, 78, 74), and has been named in the squad alongside fellow openers Alex Hales and Jonny Bairstow.

There is no place for Hampshire leg-spinner Mason Crane despite the esteem head coach Trevor Bayliss and the England coaching staff hold him in.

Spin options for captain Eoin Morgan lie with Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid, while Jos Buttler is likely to take up responsibilities behind the stumps.

Elsewhere, Joe Root remains a part of England’s plans in all three formats having been named in the T20 squad, as he plans for the Ashes series this winter.

At the conclusion of the last Test of the series against the West Indies, England’s schedule sees them take on the tourists in a one-off T20 match at Chester-le-Street before Old Trafford hosts the first ODI on 19 September.

England’s 14-man squad to play West Indies in single T20 match:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Dawid Malan (Middlesex), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire).

England’s 14-man squad for the five-match ODI series:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).


Share this story


Related Posts


The latest tweets from @TheCricketPaper

Have your say

Who is the best emerging fast bowler in the world?

Jofra Archer

Hasan Ali

Jasprit Bumrah

Pat Cummins


Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.