Humiliation of defeat to India sees Sri Lanka selectors quit en masse

(Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

By Adam Ellis

Sri Lanka’s board of selectors have quit their roles following the crushing home defeats at the hands of India, which led to angry protests from fans in Pallekele on Sunday.

Home supporters forced umpires to stop play for 30 minutes during the third ODI by hurling projectiles onto the pitch and shouting abuse, as their team crashed to a sixth-consecutive loss against Virat Kohli’s side during this tour.

The large margins of the defeats in Tests and ODIs has heaped pressure on the selectors, led by the legendary Sanath Jayasuriya, who have had to react to the resignation of Angelo Mathews as a captain and the shock defeat to Zimbabwe on home soil earlier in the year.

Unable to find the answers Jayasuriya and five other selectors have had their offers of resignation accepted, with a source telling AFP: “The selection panel felt they should step down, allowing the board to appoint a fresh set of selectors in view of the criticism and the crowd reaction on Sunday.”

Lacking any signs of competitiveness, Sri Lanka have followed up their 3-0 Test whitewash with a humiliating 9 wicket defeat in Dambulla and have had only two batsmen score half centuries since.

With changes coming on the field and off it, Sri Lanka are seeking any signs of stability in their remaining two ODIs to be played in Colombo.

Sri Lanka v India 2017


1st Test – Galle: India 600 & 240-3d beat Sri Lanka 291 and 245 by 304 runs

2nd Test – Colombo: India 622-9d beat Sri Lanka 183 & 386 by an innings and 53 runs

3rd Test – Pallekele: India 487 beat Sri Lanka 135 & 181 by an innings and 171 runs


1st ODI – Dambulla: Sri Lanka 216 lost to India 220-1 by 9 wickets

2nd ODI – Pallekele: Sri Lanka 236-8 lost to India 231-7 by 3 wickets (D/L method)

3rd ODI – Pallekele: Sri Lanka 217-9 lost to India 218-4 by 6 wickets

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *