Jones is poised to shine at sport No. 2

LUKE Sugg will captain England’s Visually Impaired side in the upcoming World Cup in India after the ECB named a 15-man squad.

It will be Sugg’s second time captaining the side in a World T20 tournament with uncapped duo Rory Hossell and Gareth Jones also included in the squad.

Hossell joins brother Edward in the squad while Jones is aiming to represent England at a second sport, having already played international football.

ECB’s head of disability cricket Ian Martin said: “The squad has developed so much under Ross Hunter over the last four years I have no doubt that we will be competitive in the tournament. Playing in India is a wonderful experience for cricketers at all levels and our Visually Impaired squad are no different.

“I know that the team will prepare well and perform to the best of their ability – if they do that then we’ll have a great chance to take on the blind cricket powerhouses of India and Pakistan.”

England begin their competition on January 31 against Pakistan in Delhi before facing Australia, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies in a round-robin format.

The top four qualify for the semi-finals with the final on February 12.

England Visually Impaired head coach Hunter added: “I am incredibly excited about this group of players. It is the most talented group that I’ve had the opportunity to be involved with.

“We know that we will need to play two of the best games that we’ve ever played to win the tournament and I think we have the ability within the squad to do that. I think that’s a first for England Visually Impaired cricket, which is fantastic.”

England Visually Impaired squad:
Luke Sugg (captain, Warwickshire, pictured), Amin Afshari (Kent), Peter Blueitt (Yorkshire), Matthew Dean (London Metro), Nathan Foy (Warwickshire), Daniel Field (Sussex), Justin Hollingsworth (Warwickshire), Edward Hossell (Somerset), Rory Hossell (Somerset), Gareth Jones (London Metro), Mahomed Khatri (Warwickshire), Simon Ledwith (Sussex), James Millard (Sussex), Matthew Page (London Metro), Mark Turnham (Warwickshire)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *