England announce schedule for 2017

Taunton will host an England men’s international for the first time since the 1983 World Cup next summer after the ECB announced England’s schedule for 2017.

South Africa and West Indies will both tour the country, playing all three formats of the game against the Three Lions.

England begin their summer with two ODIs against Ireland before playing three matches against South Africa. Then it’s the Champions Trophy which is being held in this country.

The domestic One-Day Cup has been brought forward from its traditional mid-September date to a new mid-summer slot in early July while T20 Blast final’s day will be held in early September.

ECB Chief Executive Officer Tom Harrison said: “With three different international teams coming here next summer and this country playing host to two major ICC global events – the ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Women’s World Cup – there will be a feast of international cricket to excite us in England and Wales.

“Both the international and the domestic schedule will have a different shape to previous years. And the early season block for the Royal London One-Day Cup – with a new mid-season date for its Lord’s final – will support both England’s ICC Champions Trophy preparations and our longer term planning for the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. It will also allow players to focus skills on the white ball game and help more people to understand the structure of the season.

“It promises to be a memorable summer of cricket for all our international grounds and a particularly special one for Somerset CCC which will host its first England men’s fixture for more than thirty years; a great opportunity for the county to further capitalise on its strong support for England women’s cricket in recent years.”

2017 Major Match Schedule in full:

England v Ireland Royal London ODIs
Fri 5 May  1st Royal London ODI                                       Bristol
Sun 7 May 2nd Royal London ODI                                     Lord’s

England v South Africa
Wed 24 May  1st Royal London ODI (D/N)                         Headingley
Sat 27 May     2nd Royal London ODI                                 Ageas Bowl
Mon 29 May    3rd Royal London ODI                                 Lord’s

Wed 21 June  1st NatWest IT20 (f)                                        Ageas Bowl
Fri 23 June      2nd NatWest IT20        The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton
Sun 25 June    3rd NatWest IT20                          SSE SWALEC, Cardiff

Thu 6-Mon 10 July  1st Investec Test                               Lord’s
Fri 14-Tue 18 July   2nd Investec Test                              Trent Bridge
Thu 27-Mon 31 July 3rd Investec Test                              Kia Oval
Fri 4-Tue 8 Aug         4th Investec Test                             Emirates Old Trafford

England v West Indies
Thu 17-Mon 21 Aug 1st Investec Test                                       Edgbaston
Fri 25-Tue 29 Aug 2nd Investec Test                                          Headingley
Thu 7-Mon 11 Sept  3rd Investec Test                                        Lord’s 

Sat 16 Sept NatWest IT20 (f)                                           Emirates Riverside

Tue 19 Sept  1st Royal London ODI (D/N)                           Emirates Old Trafford
Thu 21 Sept   2nd Royal London ODI (D/N)                         Trent Bridge
Sun 24 Sept   3rd Royal London ODI                                    Bristol
Wed 27 Sept   4th Royal London ODI (D/N)                          Kia Oval
Fri 29 Sept       5th Royal London ODI (D/N)                         Ageas Bowl

Domestic Finals
Sat 1 July  Royal London One-Day Cup Final                    Lord’s
Sat 2 Sept  NatWest T20 Blast Finals’ Day                           Edgbaston

ICC Champions Trophy:  (1 June – 18 June)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *