Scotland name World T20 squad

PRESTON Mommsen will lead an experienced Scotland squad to the World T20 with Kyle Coetzer named as vice-captain.

All 15 players in the squad have been capped at international level with Gavin Main coming in for Bradley Wheal in the only change from the recent tour to Hong Kong and Dubai.

That tour saw the Scots lose by nine runs to the UAE before beating the Netherlands by 37 runs in their two t20s with official ranking points at stake. It leaves Scotland ranked 10th in the official ICC t20 rankings.

Scotland head coach Grant Bradburn said: “It is great to be announcing an extremely strong and well balanced t20 squad for India. We have an excellent mix of youth and experience, with every player offering dynamic specific skills in this format.

“Competition for places in the final 15 has been hotly contested and everyone has great respect for the quality of players in the wider squad.

“India presents a huge challenge for the team, however it also presents a fantastic opportunity which we are all looking forward to. We have five warm-up fixtures in India to adapt to conditions and to complete our team preparation to unleash our very best skills, at this global tournament.”

Scotland squad for ICC World Twenty20: Preston Mommsen (captain), Kyle Coetzer (vice-captain), Alasdair Evans, Calum MacLeod, Con de Lange, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Josh Davey, Mark Watt, Matt Machan, Matthew Cross, Michael Leask, Richie Berrington, Rob Taylor, Safyaan Sharif.

One Comment

  1. is it the new team of Scotland?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *