The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is Going to be a Mini Indian Premier League

The Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy is scheduled to start on the 10th January, sparking excitement across India as many are considering it to be a mini–Indian Premier League. The tournament’s importance rises from the fact that it is the first domestic cricket event since the Covid-19 pandemic started and the fact that there will be big IPL players playing at it. The significance of this tournament increases further as the auction from the IPL will take place right after the tournament has ended, meaning players will be trying to put themselves on the top shelf.

What Big Names Will You Find at This Tournament?

Usually, the big names sit out of this tournament, but this year they will see it as a perfect way to get in some very good practice before the IPL starts. Below we have listed some of the big names that you will be playing at this tournament.

  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Suresh Raina
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Robin Uthappa
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Ishant Sharma
  • Varun Aaron
  • Sarfaraz Khan
  • Vijay Shankar

Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Schedule

This tournament is set to get underway on the 10th January, with the final taking place on the 31st January. Kolkata, Bangalore, Indore, Vadodara, Chennai, and Mumbai are the six different venues that have been chosen to host matches. There will be a bio-secure bubble to try and limit the spread of Covid-19 as much as possible. So, which teams will be playing where? Well, we have provided you with the necessary information below:

  • Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Karnataka, Railways, Uttar Pradesh, and Tripura will play at Bangalore.
  • Bengal, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Jharkhand, Hyderabad, and Assam will play at Kolkata.
  • Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Baroda, Chattisgarh, Uttarakhand, and Baroda will play at Vadodara.
  • Saurashtra, Services, Rajasthan, Vidarbha, Goa, and Madhya Pradesh will play at Indore.
  • Delhi, Andhra, Haryana, Kerala, Mumbai, and Puducherry will play at Mumbai.
  • Bihar, Meghalaya, Chandigarh, Nagaland, Mizoram, Manipur, Arunachal and Sikkim will play at Chennai.

Betting on the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

This is a really entertaining competition to watch, even more so now that some of the biggest names in Indian cricket will be participating this time around. However, you can make it even more interesting by placing bets on the action – there are many bookies out there, such as 10Cric, that will provide their customers with markets and odds for a wide variety of cricket events, including the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. You can find out more about this great event and other great cricket tournaments at You can also find out more about other bookmakers, so you can find the best sports betting site for you.

Yuvraj Singh Will Make an Appearance at This Year’s Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Yuvraj Singh, a World Cup winner with India, is going to come out of retirement and play for Punjab during this tournament. The Indian legend, who not too long ago was suffering from lung cancer, had announced his retirement from the game in June, but he decided to continue playing cricket for his home state when approached by Puneet Bali, the secretary of the Punjab Cricket Association. If he starts to fire on all cylinders, then the bowlers will be in for a bit of a rough time. We mean, who can forget that time when he dispatched Stuart Broad, who is now one of the best bowlers in the world, into the stands six times in a row. It really was a stunning display of muscular batting.

However, Indian cricket fans will likely be quite disappointed to hear that fellow Indian legend MS Dhoni will not be competing in this tournament, meaning that he will enter the 2021 edition of the IPL with very little match practice under his belt. Despite this, we all know he is still talented enough to have a huge impact on any match that he plays in.

S. Sreesanth Will Make a Return

S. Sreesanth, the former Indian fast bowler, will return to the world of cricket after serving a ban for allegedly being involved in spot-fixing during the IPL in 2013. He originally received a lifetime ban, but this was eventually reduced to just 7 years, making him eligible to start playing cricket again as of September 2020.

He was named in Kerala’s squad for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, so it is very likely that he will make an appearance at one stage or another. If he does, then he could have a big say as to how well Kerala do in the tournament as he is still a very talented bowler, despite the fact that he is 37 years old now.  

Suresh Raina Will Play

While Dhoni decided against playing in this tournament, Raina, who retired from international cricket at the same time that Dhoni did, has decided that he will play in it. Raina, who sat out of the 2020 IPL for personal reasons, tweeted in December that he will be representing Uttar Pradesh at the 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. He has not played competitive cricket in over a year, but he has been keeping himself fit and training hard to ensure that he can have a good domestic season.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *