Amy Jones and Tammy Beaumont star to give England Women series whitewash

Half-centuries from Amy Jones and Tammy Beaumont took England to a comprehensive eight-wicket win over Sri Lanka in Colombo and saw them claim the series 3-0.

On another
baking hot day England’s bowlers gave nothing away and the tone was set after
two early wickets with the new ball for Kate Cross.

Shrubsole and Alex Hartley joined Cross in taking two, and three run-outs –
including a brilliant effort from Nat Sciver – aided the cause. Sri Lanka were
bowled out in the final over of their innings for 174.

Jones then made it three fifties in a row – all three of them in the top eight of England’s quickest-ever ODI half-centuries – before falling for 76.

England captain Heather Knight praised her team for notching their seventh win in a row.

Knight said: “It was a really professional performance. It’s incredibly hot out there and the bowlers did so well to maintain their discipline and keep Sri Lanka down to that total.

done brilliantly to make it look comfortable because you have to work very hard
to make it look straightforward. That’s what we do all the hard work for, and
you can see the increased fitness when we maintain our standards in conditions
like that.

batters, especially the two at the top, have been fantastic in this series and
I’m proud that we’ve kept our momentum and kept being clinical.

“It’s been a
long tour for us and obviously those first two defeats to India were
disappointing but it says so much about the team’s character that we’ve fought
back like we have to win seven in a row.”

Jones and
Beaumont’s partnership of 127 was their fourth century partnership for the
first wicket. No pair have made more for England.

played nicely for 63 from 66 balls but it was captain Heather Knight (3*) and
Lauren Winfield (29*) who took England over the line. The latter sealing the
win with a huge six over mid-wicket.

The run of victories of Knight and her team have seen England Women now climb to second place in the ICC Women’s Championship.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *